The Memphis Business Group on Health (MBGH) is pleased to make this forum, including all web pages and web sites accessed from this page, available to Web Site users and others. However, the MBGH does not render legal or consultation services, and legal counsel must be consulted to determine any material’s applicability to any specific situation. MBGH cannot warrant or control the quality, accuracy, or validity of the information posted here. Comments posted on this blog are the sole responsibility of their writers. Use of such information is at the risk of the accessing user and the accessing user assumes all liabilities that may result from such use.




MBGH CEO Elected Vice President of National Quality Forum Board of Directors

Memphis, TN – January 6, 2020 – The National Quality Forum (NQF) announced on January 3, 2020, Jonathan B. Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA, President, Clinical Services and Chief Medical Officer of Hospital Corporation of America as the new chair of its Board of Directors and Memphis Business Group on Health Chief Executive Officer Cristie Upshaw Travis as Board vice chair.

“NQF has the unique ability to pull together the diverse voices necessary to provide the collective perspective to chart the path for improving the quality of care in our country,” said Dr. Perlin. “It is an honor to work with such a committed group of colleagues to advance a mission to improve healthcare outcomes for every person in every community.”

"I am honored to join my fellow Tennessean, Jon Perlin, in working with the National Quality Forum Board of Directors and strong NQF team to continue NQF's work to drive measurable health improvements through collaboration, leadership, passion, excellence and integrity".

Ms. Travis' has been involved with NQF for over 10 years and served as Treasurer of the Board of Directors; Vice Chair and Chair of the Consensus Standards Approval Committee; is co-Chair of the Admissions/Readmission Standing Committee; and is rolling off as co-Chair of the Hospital Workgroup for the Measures Application Partnership. Ms. Travis also serves on other national boards and committees, including serving as Chair of the Board of Governors for the National Alliance of Healthcare Purchaser Coalitions; Vice Chair of the Board of Directors for The Leapfrog Group; and as a member of the Employer Advisory Council for the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA).

NQF also announced seven new members of its Board of Directors encompassing diverse private and public healthcare leaders from across the country.

“The diverse composition of our Board is central to NQF’s commitment to drive multiple perspectives into actions that create measurable health improvements for every person,” said NQF President and CEO Shantanu Agrawal, MD, MPhil. “We are excited to enter the new year with Board members focused on tackling national health needs.”

The new NQF Board members include:

Jeffrey Brady, MD, MPHDesignee for Gopal Khanna, MBA, Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Dr. Brady has served as the Director of AHRQ's Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety since 2014. He is as a member of the AHRQ Senior Leadership Team and leads a part of the Agency that conducts several AHRQ programs, including: Patient Safety Research, Healthcare-Associated Infections Prevention, Patient Safety Organization Program, National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Report (NHQDR) Program, and measurement initiatives such as the AHRQ Quality Indicators and the Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (CAHPS®) survey resources. Before moving to AHRQ in December 2006, Dr. Brady served as a medical officer and clinical reviewer for the Food and Drug Administration's Office of Vaccines. Additionally, he has held positions as a medical epidemiologist for the Department of Defense and primary care physician in the U.S. Navy.

Susan B. Frampton, PhDPresident, Planetree International

Dr. Frampton is President of Planetree International, a non-profit advocacy and membership organization working to implement person-centered models of care. She speaks internationally on culture change and the patient experience. In 2009, Dr. Frampton was named one of “20 People who Make Healthcare Better” by Health Leaders Magazine. She has authored numerous publications, including the three editions of Putting Patients First (Jossey-Bass 2004, 2008, 2013), and served as lead author on the National Academy of Medicine’s Harnessing Evidence and Experience to Change Culture, released in early 2017.

Garth Graham, MD, MPH, FACP, FACCVice President of Community Health & Impact, CVS Health, President, Aetna Foundation

Dr. Graham is a cardiologist, public health expert, and a leading authority on social determinants of health. He oversees the community health initiatives for CVS Health, bringing his experience as a former deputy assistant secretary at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services under the Obama and Bush administrations, where he also ran the Office of Minority Health.

Thomas Kottke, MD, MSPHMedical Director for Well-being, HealthPartners

Dr. Kottke is a clinical cardiologist in HealthPartners Medical Group and a researcher at the HealthPartners Institute for Education and Research in addition to serving as Medical Director for Well-being at HealthPartners. He is board certified in internal medicine and the treatment of cardiovascular diseases and holds the academic rank of Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota.

Kameron Leigh Matthews, MD, JD, FAAFPDeputy Undersecretary for Health for Community Care, Department of Veterans Affairs

Dr. Matthews is a board-certified family physician, advocate, and policy maker with a career focus on underserved patient populations. Overseeing a national budget of more than $14 billion, she is responsible for the community-based provider network and services that increase access to care for Veterans and select family members nationwide, as well as the associated business processes including claims operations and management, revenue cycle, and quality oversight. In 2017 she was named one of National Minority Quality Forum’s 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health.

Shannon Connor Phillips, MD, MPH, FAAP, SFHMChief Patient Experience Officer, Intermountain Healthcare

Dr. Phillips leads the office of patient experience at Intermountain Healthcare, the largest integrated healthcare delivery system in the Intermountain West, a team catalyzing safety, quality, and experience of care. In 2018, she was named to Becker’s Hospital Review’s 30 Hospital and Health System CXOs to Know list. Her vision is that healthcare is an empathic and effective human experience. Prior to joining Intermountain, she served as Cleveland Clinic’s first patient safety officer and as associate chief quality officer.

Lisa WoodsSenior Director, U.S. Strategy & Design of Benefits for Walmart Stores, Inc.

Woods is a nationally recognized innovator and thought leader in healthcare. She was named to Fortune magazine’s World’s Greatest Leaders (#10) in 2019 as a result of her efforts for driving and influencing positive change in the healthcare industry.

Click here to see the full NQF Board of Directors roster.

Posted by Cristie Travis at 5:22 PM

From Our Blog

Say Hello

Please feel free to drop us a line via the button below. We try to respond to every email we receive.

Stay Connected

Join the MBGH community and keep up to date with issues concerning Memphis healthcare.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Feed